Saturday 11 July 2020.Time-
ফন্ট ডাউনলোড

Strong Australia squad for Brazil clash

Brazil-clashDhaka, 28 August, Abnews : Australia will take a strong squad to Brazil for a friendly next month with coach Holger Osieck saying Wednesday he was keen to see how they compared to such a quality team. Along with high-profile regulars such as Mark Schwarzer, Tim Cahill and Lucas Neill, Osieck included striker Mitchell Duke who impressed on his debut at the recent East Asian Cup tournament in South Korea.

Middlesbrough defender Rhys Williams also returns after missing the Asian qualifying matches in June when Australia clinched their spot at next year’s World Cup. The main point is to compare where we stand against one of the top teams in the world. From there we can plan our training content and other matters in the lead-up to next year’s World Cup, said Osieck.

To be able to travel to the country that is hosting the World Cup a year ahead is also of great value. The players will be able to familiarise themselves with various factors that they will experience next year so it won’t be a surprise next June. It will also be interesting to see how we are received having to play the host nation in Brazil with a large home crowd, he added.

The clash in Brasilia on September 7 will be the seventh match between the Socceroos and Brazil, and the first since the Brazil’s 2-0 victory in the group phase of the 2006 World Cup.


Australia squad:

Mark Bresciano (Al Gharafa, Qatar), Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls, US), Robert Cornthwaite (Chunnam Dragons, South Korea), Mitchell Duke (Central Coast Mariners, Australia), James Holland (FK Austria, Vienna), Brett Holman (Al Nasr Sports Club, UAE), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace, England), Josh Kennedy (Nagoya Grampus, Japan), Robbie Kruse (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany), Mitchell Langerak (Borussia Dortmund, Germany), Ryan McGowan (Shandong Luneng Taishan, China), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar, Australia), Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory, Australia), Lucas Neill (Omiya Ardija, Japan), Tommy Oar (Utrecht, Netherlands), Sasa Ognenovski (Umm Salal SC, Qatar), Tom Rogic (Celtic, Scotland), Mat Ryan (Brugge, Belgium), Mark Schwarzer (Chelsea, England), Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory, Australia), Luke Wilkshire (Dinamo Moscow, Russia), Rhys Williams (Middlesbrough, England).



রিপোর্ট শেয়ার করুন  »
Share on Facebook!Digg this!Add to!Stumble this!Add to Techorati!Seed Newsvine!Reddit!